An Unfortunate Disruption

As you have probably noticed, the last daily column at this site was posted on Monday evening, April 25 – and there’s been nothing since. There’s a reason for that. This is a one-man operation and Tuesday afternoon I was hospitalized – the one man in this particular case was offline, on a gurney in the hallway of big emergency room on Sunset Boulevard smack in the middle of Hollywood, for about ten hours on a Tuesday evening. And then it was the rest of the week on one of the wards, kind of out of it on IV-drip and that sort of thing – although the royal wedding was very nice, on morphine. Needless to say, this was no time for detailed political analysis. And I was discharged late in the afternoon on Saturday, April 30 – so, well, no one fed the blog for five days – sorry about that.

There will naturally be some recovery time – so the next daily column may be delayed. And surgery comes next – to be scheduled soon. Drat.

But do drop by now and then. I might write a new column soon, just to keep engaged in the national dialog about this and that. That is endlessly fascinating. Or I may just sit quietly and smoke my pipe and think about writing a column – and then pop a few pills and take a nap. We’ll see.

But thank you to all the readers over the last few years. And one way or another I will be back.

About Alan

The editor is a former systems manager for a large California-based HMO, and a former senior systems manager for Northrop, Hughes-Raytheon, Computer Sciences Corporation, Perot Systems and other such organizations. One position was managing the financial and payroll systems for a large hospital chain. And somewhere in there was a two-year stint in Canada running the systems shop at a General Motors locomotive factory - in London, Ontario. That explains Canadian matters scattered through these pages. Otherwise, think large-scale HR, payroll, financial and manufacturing systems. A résumé is available if you wish. The editor has a graduate degree in Eighteenth-Century British Literature from Duke University where he was a National Woodrow Wilson Fellow, and taught English and music in upstate New York in the seventies, and then in the early eighties moved to California and left teaching. The editor currently resides in Hollywood California, a block north of the Sunset Strip.
This entry was posted in Announcements and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to An Unfortunate Disruption

  1. Dick Bernard says:

    Be well.
    As another of those one-man shops, I fully understand.
    I am amazed at your productivity, day after day.
    I may go daily several days in a row, and then take a week off for one or another reason….
    You do great and important work.
    All best for a quick and complete recovery!

  2. Doubting Thomas says:

    I’m sorry to read that you’re not well. Your column is one of my unmissable reads and I hope you’ll get back yourself back fit, well and inspired.

  3. Joyce says:

    I do hope you are doing well. Your postings are among my daily “must-reads” and I have missed them during your illness. I particularly enjoy your tangential introductions to the topics, which then curve around to a perfect bull’s eye!

  4. Randy says:

    Best wishes for your recovery and thank you for all the postings that have gone well beyond the usual regurgitation of talking points.

  5. Aunt Snow says:

    Hope you’re doing all right. M. Bouffant introduced you to me, and I am an occasional admiring reader. Funny thing – I just got out of the hospital, too, after a visit to the ER on Thursday.

    Maybe we’ll share some healing karma.

  6. Katherine says:

    you are my daily must read / get well soon !

    here is a mantra i use :

    I heal
    without haste
    without delay
    in perfect ways
    blessed by the grace of the universe

    thanks again for your thoughtful and entertaining commentary

    Katherine

Leave a comment