No Longer Dark

The columns, six evenings a week, have resumed. Yep, back in business – and for the geeks, each new column, written in Microsoft Word, is saved in plain text in a separate copy, where I then add all the HTML formatting code, paragraph by paragraph. I created a library of code snippets to drop in. It’s simple, but tedious. Then that text file is copied to WordPress as a text draft where I can look and see how it will appear onscreen and fix what I missed – and where I then move to “visual mode” and use the WordPress editor to add the links from the original version, and test it all, and so on. Then I push the Publish button. This adds thirty or forty minutes to production time, something that was done automatically when Windows Live Writer used to talk to WordPress, which it doesn’t anymore. No one needs to know any of this, but someone was going to ask.

About Alan

The editor is a former systems manager for a large California-based HMO, and a former senior systems manager for Northrop, Hughes-Raytheon, Computer Sciences Corporation, Perot Systems and other such organizations. One position was managing the financial and payroll systems for a large hospital chain. And somewhere in there was a two-year stint in Canada running the systems shop at a General Motors locomotive factory - in London, Ontario. That explains Canadian matters scattered through these pages. Otherwise, think large-scale HR, payroll, financial and manufacturing systems. A résumé is available if you wish. The editor has a graduate degree in Eighteenth-Century British Literature from Duke University where he was a National Woodrow Wilson Fellow, and taught English and music in upstate New York in the seventies, and then in the early eighties moved to California and left teaching. The editor currently resides in Hollywood California, a block north of the Sunset Strip.
This entry was posted in Announcements. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to No Longer Dark

  1. Dick Bernard says:

    Praise and Hallelujah! I can breath again!
    I see today’s post is about Paris. I took my own amateur look at the situation in my own blogpost of Jan. 10, if you’re interested. Included are a photo and some comments from my friend, Christine, who is Parisian and was at the demonstration yesterday.
    Welcome back to the “internets”!

  2. Cheryl Askew says:

    Yea! Thank you so much for your persistence and dedication. The world is once again a better place!

  3. Russell says:

    Good to see you back. Your daily posts rte ally are indispensable. And it’s not just you insights — which, I think, are very sharp. The other reason I read your posts is the diversity of websites you choose to quote from and comment on. You write trenchant analysis Alan, built on a lifetime of the kinds of experiences that have shaped our world — from Literature in Academia, through Aerospace, system analysis and health care management. I’ve never read anything you write that wasted my time. That’s the highest compliment I give. You’re a 10, lad.

  4. smithgrier25 says:

    Just to let you know, I truly appreciate your time and dedication. I only wish more people had that kind of outlook on things. The world would be a better place for it. Thanks again for all your work!

  5. Appreciate you and your time. Longform is the latest “big deal” on wp along with the “new dashboard” and the “quick publish”; none of which I like. Guess I’m a classic. I’m pleased you found a getaround. I need to have you with my coffee every day ;)

Leave a Reply

